The SASA Celebrates 50 Years

The Saskatoon Amateur Softball Association hosted it’s 50th Anniversary celebrations, Saturday August 2 and Sunday August 3, 2014. The SASA has produced 21 national champions including 12 since the year 2000. It is the only association whose teams have won the Senior A Men’s and Women’s National Softball Championship in the same year, 1969. It is also the only association to produce 4 National champions in one season: 2008 Midget Boys, Sr. Men’s, Jr Women’s and National Collegiate champions. At the end of this season Saskatoon will have hosted over 30 different national or international events including three ISF World Championships.

Famous softball names span each of the 5 decades of SASA history including players like Peter Zacharias, Eddie Swiderski, Shelia Rowan and Vera Pezer from the 1960’s. The 70’s featured the likes of Gene McWillie, Rob Guenter, Ann Tkachuck, and Joan Duprey. In the 80’s, local fans had the chance to watch players like Rob Scheller, Jay Sim, Pat Wegner and Irene Wallace come into prominence. The 90’s produced stars like Olympian Jacki Nichol as well as Team Canada players such as Terry Wallin and Dale Dirks. The 21st century kept up the tradition producing players like national teamers Dean Holien and Keith Mackintosh, Olympians Dionne Meier and Erin Cumpstone as well as national teamer, Heather Ebert. Recently we have our newest local member of the Women’s National Team, Megan Gurski and the newest member of the Men's National Team Devon McCullough.

Check us out on Facebook at

Read articles about the SASA and many of it’s most interesting players, umpires, coaches and teams

Click on each to download a PDF.

Two Local Women have a hand in World’s Bronze – Erin Cumpstone and Heather Ebert

Hall of Famers – Dave Moore, Noreen Murphy, Jaki Nichol  page 2

Second Home for Devon McCullough

Saskatoon Masters more than 25 years of Success

Roger Malmgren

SASA History of Hosting major events

SASA winners at Nationals, Westerns and Collegiate Nationals

Doug Schultz – 50 years as an Umpire

Trevor Ethier – Playing at Home

Erin Cumpstone – From Player to Coach

Dione Meier – Her Olympic moment

2013 Scotia Bank Selects win Nationals

First ever U14 Boy’s Championship

History of the Boy’s Selects program

2015 Men’s Worlds – Greatest win Canadian soil

Devon McCullough – The Local Boy

Keith MacKintosh – Around the world and back

Travis Dauvin, Derek Arsenie and Devon McCullough - 3 Stars for Team Canada

Four Key Builders Of Softball In Saskatoon: Bob Van Impe, Vern “Glenn” Reeve , Bryan Kosteroski and Keith Mclean

3 local Guys at 2009 Men’s’ Worlds – Dean Holoien, Keith MacKintosh and Trevor Ethier

Fast Pitch Softball What a Game